Homielicious; Home Flavour, Sincerity and Love Spices

Speaking of Christmas season (again???!!!) and being …about 785 kilometers away from home…reminds me (again) everything about home and my family (I’m really a single family girl). Here some of my family recipes that I miss so much when I’m being separated from that tiny but cozy home. Its an ordinary food added with an extraordinary spices, i just feel it extraordinary because they make it especially for me while i’m home.. I can feel they pour out all of their love and sincerity while making it…yess, i call it home flavor (mmmm,,,i think I’m exaggerating now -_-).

“Dining with one’s friends and beloved family is certainly one of life’s primal and most innocent delights, one that is both soul-satisfying and eternal,”-Anonymous

Pisang Epe’,

A deep fried gently flattened banana snack, served with crushed chillies and tomatoes. Best served hot (or just don’t let this dish cooling down) best accompanied by black bitter coffee or sugarless hot tea…

I made this Pisang Epe'
I made this Pisang Epe’

This snack always comes first when the rain pouring down or when we wake up in the morning and time doesn’t allow us for making a family breakfast…

Its crunchy,  sweet;  those crushed chilies and tomatoes adding some spicy and salty taste.
Crunchy, sweet; those crushed chilies and tomatoes adding some spicy and salty taste.

Sanggar (Well known as Pisang Goreng)

Deep fried battered banana, a close sister of Pisang epe, excluding that gently flattened. Like the others banana-comes-from-snack, we usually served this with crushed chillies and tomatoes. Our family really couldn’t separate sambel (crushed chillies) from any kind of menu. Banana chips always come up when we make this one.

Look at the Banana Chips
Look at the Banana Chips, my niece really enjoyed it

Grilled Fish

Grilled Fish
i was the one who grilled it ^_^

Any kind of sea fish, traditionally grilled, served with crushed chillies. There are three kind of sambel at home, depend on our mood;

  1. Crushed chillies with unripe mango slice, added some diced onion and shallots

    Crushed chillies with unripe mango slice, added some diced onion and shallots
    Crushed chillies with unripe mango slice, added some diced onion and shallots
  2. Crushed chillies and tomatoes with 2 or three squeezed limes, add some sliced onions,shallots, and Lemongrass
  3. Crushed chillies, tomato, and a dice of Dried Shrimp-paste poured with sliced lemon basil.

    20121025_142310
    Crushed chillies, tomato, and a dice of Dried Shrimp-paste poured with sliced lemon basil.

Rice Porridge with Mixed vegetable and (head, feet) chicken

IMG_20121222_103320
Rice Porridge with Mixed vegetable and (head, feet) chicken

Boiled Turmeric Snaper Head , Fried vegetables

20120719_122054

Kapurung

Sagoo Congee, this is special dish from Eastern Indonesia, my home Kapurung character is served with a Boiled mixed vegetables (Corn, kangkung,  and spinach) and boiled Tumeric Fish (snaper or Tuna) Head.

Kapurung, my sister the best at this one
Kapurung, my sister the best at this one

And treng…treng…treng…we reach my #1 dish, First, i sincerely apologize for those who believe that pork is forbidden.

“Two words to improve any dish. Ba, Con”- Ted Allen, The Iron Chef

Grilled Pork with Special Sambal

This grilled job is mine!!!
This grilled job is mine!!!

That grilled things, not complete without this —>> Crushed chillies and tomatoes with 2 or three squeezed limes, add some sliced onions,shallots, and Lemongrass

My recipe
My recipe
Result, Served
Result, Served

Setelah posting dan baca2 baru sadar bahasa inggris gw beginner banget -_- (tapi cuek ajah)

Chefs, authors, musicians, actors, poets, so many of us have very strong feelings about food.  Why is food so emotional?  Scents of food stir up childhood memories, cooking for and feeding someone is one of the sweetest gestures in the world, even watching someone eat can be a delight.  Food and love are undeniably connected. –Savory TV-

So what’s your home favorite?

24 thoughts on “Homielicious; Home Flavour, Sincerity and Love Spices

    1. Sama sama, it’s a pleasure if someone enjoy and found my post interesting. you have to try that, actually my home recipe really spicy and hot. thank you for stopping at my blog ^_^

    1. wuaaa,,,berasa yah ampe sana? heheheh. emang enak bgt. paporit di rumah, asal ujan inget cemilan itu, asal pulang ke rumah maunya makanan ituh. btw saya juga suka blognya mba, kemren cari bahasa inggrisnya bumbu2 pas nemu blognya. makasih yah. ^_^

    1. Hi Wendy,
      U overtaking me. actually i wanna say it first, kekekeke
      anyway thank you

      Happy New Year, wish u all the best all the way ahead,
      especially for your business
      Let us welcoming 2013 and many years ahead,with a new hope and new spirit.
      God bless you 🙂

    2. Oh..oh…is that so?? Yippeee~ and I love the prize for overtaking you…i.e. your lovely blessings!! Muahkkk~

      Take care and cheers!! 😀

      PS: Hope your reading challenge is still hot on steels! 😉

  1. Hi Yuna!

    Okay – it is the Pisang Epe (have I got that right?) I am interested in. I can see what you do with the bananas, it is the preparation and cooking time with the chillies and tomatoes I am after.

    I don’t have the ingredients yet (will when we next go shopping).

    Questions I have:

    1: Is it best to get fresh chillies or do dried chillies work as well?
    2: Same for tomatoes – fresh or bottled or canned?
    3: How do you cook it and how long for?

    My husband, Greg, and I both love hot spicy dishes and we are looking forward to trying this one. 🙂

    1. Hi Allyson,
      Yes, you’ve got it right (actually epe/peppe means flattened :), sorry to let you wait a little bit longer because i have to find way how to explain it first, especially that cooking time.
      Okay for the ingredients:

      -Unripe Banana (better using ‘Pisang Sanggar’, would you mind to search how it looks like? I hope there will be such banana at Australia, because we never used another kind of banana, from banana variant that’s the best for make this dish, i think the texture is the most suitable for flattened banana)

      After peeling it one by one, just make it plain, no spices, then directly deep fried the banana.
      Actually i have no specific cooking time, i just wait until it is getting little brownish (maybe about 2 minutes) or just right not to break apart when i flattened it gently.
      After make it flattened, directly re-deep fried until it is getting brownish (about 2 minutes too).

      Answer for 1 & 2, it is best to get fresh both chillies and tomatoes. Sometimes i add onions and shallots (depend on our preference). For ‘sambel’ at picture i got 10 chillies, 3 tomatoes (diameter around 3 cm), 3 onions, and 3 shallots), ¼ spoon of salt and ½ spoon of sugar (depend on our preference)
      We never used dried chillies and bottled or canned tomatoes.
      1. Peel the onion and shallots
      2. Dice the tomatoes
      3. Fried chillies, tomatoes, onion, and shallot (about 2 minutes, don’t let them dry, just enough to get them oily)
      4. Crush all of the ingredients together (including that salt and sugar).
      5. Ready to serve.
      Good luck in trying the recipe. Please let me know if i miss something. I’m not that good at explain it T_T *getting nervous*.

    2. Hi Yuna! 🙂

      Thank you so much. You have explained it very well.

      I will check out ‘Pisang Sanggar’ and see what I can find. If I cannot get it here, I will try just regular unripe bananas (it might not be as good, but it will give me an idea of what it should taste like). 🙂

      Yes, I thought fresh chillies and tomatoes would be best.

      Thank you for explaining that the banana is fried twice – I had not realized that and would have made my first mistake right there!!!

      I will definitely report here how I go. I am looking forward to this dish! 🙂 Thank you!

    3. no worries.. 🙂
      i’m looking forward for the result too..
      yess, it supposed to fried twice..that the special ‘thing’ of Pisang epe’
      i think the same way about the banana, because ‘pisang sanggar’ just can be found at tropical area,,,i guess

      good luck \^o^?

    4. Pisang sanggar – I just looked it up on the internet to see what I need to look for. Good news. Greg tells me he’s seen them sometimes, so we do get them here. Thank you again. 🙂

  2. Hi Yuna!

    Okay, we found the right banana, only they did not have it completely unripe (the lady in the shop even checked the storage room in case they had some, which was very kind of her). We got the most green we could find.

    I cooked up this dish this morning (we have just finished eating it). 🙂

    I messed up at first with the banana because the pieces ere too big and did not flatten well, so I sliced them in half (lengthwise), re-cooked them and managed to flatten them a bit before putting them back in again to crisp up (I know, I cooked them too long). They tasted good, though. 🙂 Then I cooked up some more and did them right that time, as far as I know.

    The sambel worked out great, although I was’t sure which chillies to get and opted for the large slender medium-hot ones (and used only six). Next time we will try the small very hot ones. I used tomatoes and onions in there, too, with some salt and some sugar, following your recipe.

    We both really enjoyed this dish and found it surprisingly filling. I loved how the banana went when crisp, and I can see how this dish can be very versatile. What I also liked was how quickly it is prepared.

    So, another big THANK YOU, this is a dish we will enjoy again. I think I should try out more of your recipes… 😉

    1. Hi allyson,

      Aww, you already made your first Pisang Epe. That’s great. N i can see how much you interested in that recipe : D

      Yess, we did it too, when the banana too big 🙂 ,sliced them in half. I think u did it well because the ‘crispiness’ depend on our taste.

      Oh, i forgot about the chilly. We usually use the small one. yes, that’s very hot. Sometimes i couldn’t take it too. You want to give another try with the small one? Sounds interesting :). That kind of sambel is versatile too, sometimes we use it for grilled fish, pork, and any kind of dishes. Even just with fried vegetables

      I can imagine how well you did it because you both enjoyed the crisp “thing” and that sambel, the mixture. Indeed, we often make it at our limitless breakfast preparation 🙂

      No worries, really a compliment again :). You are the one who have a good interpretation and you are skillful. Love it *suddenly re-think how this internet “thing” connected the world*

      Do you know? My smile is getting bigger from the very first reading this.
      By the way you just successfully made and tried ‘Pisang Epe’, a traditional snack from Bugis tribe, South Celebes, Eastern part of Indonesia, my dad’s ancestor *two thumbs up*. You made it well at your first time. Honestly i did it worse than you at my first time. I got a help from my dad and i messed up the kitchen T_T. Just let me know if you need something to be informed with the other recipes.

      Have a g’ day 🙂

  3. First blog that I chose, FeedMeFood. Haha. Im surprised that you are good at writing bang. I mean, it’s really well-described and could trigger the feeling of being at home just to enjoy the food.

    1. Dorigu, as i expected from one of my favorite ‘dongsaeng’ –> search the meaning and u’ll be flattered 🙂

      Thank you for complimenting my writing. i appreciate it so much, esp. from u 🙂

  4. I love Indonesian food and often went to Indonesian restaurants in Canada but the foods shown here is very new to me. Your posts make me want to visit Indonesia for authentic Indonesian cuisine!

    1. Aw, really? Nice to know it. Yes, I think it is new for you because mostly the food which I mentioned above are eastern part of Indonesia’s food which is lesser known than western area, and also those are my home recipe specialty.
      Come and visit Indonesia, just let me know, and I let you taste all of those, my home specialty food. 🙂

Feel free to drop your thought...Thank you \^o^/

