Lost in Surabaya -_-“! A Shame Confession of a Geologist

Indeed. It’s a shame confession of a geologist technical geology graduated who supposes to be familiar or becomes one with map. At January 29, 2013, I got my first field break at my new office. As usual, before going to where my father and sister live, Sangatta, East Borneo, I gave myself a break and it was at Surabaya. Actually, that was an intentional lost. Because I wasn’t interested travel to that second largest city in Indonesia, something important drove me there, so I just let myself lost. Before travelling, I usually prepare everything, I never forget my 5W+2H; where to stay, where to go, what to do, what to see, what to eat, how to get around, how much money do I need (budget plan), I never want to miss even a little thing. But, I was too lazy and that an intentional laziness too. Yess, those lazy viruses were attacked me really hard that time. LOL.

Instead of preparing anything, I was going with the wind blows to where my will and mind led me and resulting scattered points, directionless moving, and dispersed routes as below.

Back from field break i 'googled' my routes. (Screen captured from google)
Back from field break i ‘googled’ my routes. (Screen captured from google)

That didn’t mean I had no fun or I didn’t enjoy it. I did. It even surprised me. So, let’s discover the route. Green Route. While I was strolling to the southern area of my hostel, Jalan Kayoon, its street cleanness and tidy gave me a warm and tranquility feeling. So it pushed my leg to walk more. I entered each narrow street in between. What surprised me, there were old buildings. Oh yeah, for information, I’m interested with historical building even though I have zero knowledge about architecture style. But, most of time, when I see one, my instinct will say, “Okeh, this is not just an ordinary building, take a picture!” kekekekekekeke. This time I just took a few buildings because most of the building is used for public and I was too afraid to be suspected as a criminal :D.

Kayun 1
Cultural preserve; colonial building at Jalan Kayun, Surabaya

As I was walking further, like the green dispersed routes, I caught some interesting pictures.

Kayun 2

Old1

I really enjoyed how my leg and my instinct brought me finding the other astonishing objects. These were how Jalan Yos Sudarso spoiled my eyes.

Kayun 3

Yesss, Surabaya is full of monuments

How could i regret these findings? \^0^/

Old church Maranatha
Old church Maranatha
Maranatha2
Maranatha Church in every angle

When I thought I had traveled so far from my hostel, I went back to intersection that I had became familiar with and then continue with the black route with west – Northwest direction. I loved how this street gave me that historical vibe, mmm, i think I’m getting to excessive :0.

AdiNugroho

Rabobank, 1912
Rabobank, 1912

I even found this historical hotel; it was written on my Junior high school history book; Orange hotel. It surprised me and satisfied my eyes.

Old Vibe from Jalan Pemuda - Jalan Pahlawan
Old Vibe from Jalan Pemuda – Jalan Pahlawan

When the breeze was slowly disappearing, I forced my leg went back to my intersection while memorizing these wonderful walks.

Old Vibe Streets

Finally I awarded my thirst self with (actually) popular Zhangrandi Ice Cream, since Dutch time, which I found unintentionally on my way through Jalan Yos Sudarso. My heart was captured by the atmosphere.

Zhangrandi

So, my unintentional historical adventure was finished at Zhangrandi, but it memories will last forever. I guess.

Zhangrandi

I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move. –Robert Louis Stevenson-

14 thoughts on “Lost in Surabaya -_-“! A Shame Confession of a Geologist

  1. wow…you really do have an adventurous heart, my friend…you know the Suntec City in Singapore? I am able to get lost within the building 3 times before I finally know where that giant supermarket was located…lol…that’s my lousy sense of direction…

    If I allow myself to get lost…I think I will be lost forever…lol…

    Enjoy reading this post!! Hope you are really enjoying this field trip…Cheerssssssssssssssssssss~ 😀

    1. Mmmm, sometimes, it depends on my mood. People who stay around me said that I have really bad mood swings, but just sometimes. I’m trying to manage it. kekekekekeke.

      Suntec, I’ve heard about that place, but never been there. That’s a tremendous huge place. Isn’t it?

      Sorry to say, but I think that’s really a lousy sense of direction. No offense dear friend. LOL. How could you get lost in a mall? heheheehehe…

      So, never allow it happened. If you will, just try to enjoy it, then I’m pretty sure you’ll find something exciting. Trust me :). Or find a friend to get lost together. Maybe me?? Someday.

      Thank you for enjoying it. Like you’ve said before, knowing that someone out there enjoyed and liked your post is like giving a new spirit to your day. 🙂

      But I think this blogging thing is very tricky, at first we do it, or posted anything that I like, in further I want more. More attention (or it just works on me??) hehehehehe.
      For your eyes only, I have more lost or alone travel stories, u better watch to it. hehehehe

      Have a bright day and week ahead 🙂

    2. LOL…I’ve to admit that…coz the supermarket was like in another tower and I’ve always missed the hallway leading to that tower….that’s why…hehehe…

      I can even lost my direction inside MRT…thinking that I am going to the destinated station and not knowing that it was actually heading just the opposite.

      I guess, different people blog for different reasons…of course it is always a bonus to know that there are actually people out there reading what you’ve written…

      on the other hands, when we are feeling low inside, at times, it can be really therapeutic to just write something out rather than getting flustered over it…

      Have a great day at work! Cheers~ 😀

    3. Sorry dear friend, i have to grin for your lost stories. U got lost even in MRT? LOL.

      yess, indeed. that’s what I’m taking a blog for when I’m feeling low inside. it really a nice therapeutic. i think that as the art of blogging. it’s free though 🙂

      Thank you for cheering.

      Have a great great day ahead 🙂

    4. Yep…that is the reason why I was having so much stress driving a car in the past…when I passed the keys back to company on my last day of work and took a bus home…I could feel a sense of relief (well…it only lasted for a few weeks…because I started longing for a car when I’ve waited at the bus stop for 30 minutes and was about to be late for work…LOL)…

      Happy blogging and have a great day always~

      With lots of cheers,
      Wendy

  2. This place looks so beautiful – wonderful pictures! Mind if I ask which program you use? I would love to learn how to piece together several pics into one shot, as you’ve done. 🙂

    1. Yess, indeed and as a second largest city in Indonesia, Surabaya is quite clean and tidy.

      Thank you for complimenting. oh, i wouldn’t mind. i used PhotoScape. i found it in Windows Ultima 7, maybe it tagged along when we installed windows.

      i used to use corel draw, but that photoscape is easier to use than corel draw. but corel has more interesting tools.

      good luck learning PhotoScape :). I’m looking forward to the result 😀

  3. Hi Yuna! Another adventure – wonderful!

    I, too, get lost easily but I usually find my way.

    I once got lost in a big store when I was following my husband. He is tall, so when we are in heavy crowds, I tuck in behind him and follow.

    However, as you know, I am also a writer. That means I daydream a lot. So, on this day, I followed my husband all around the store while daydreaming (and not paying attention).

    After about half and hour, I looked up and discovered that somehow, somewhere, I had crossed tracks with someone else and I was following a complete stranger! LOL. 😀

    Cheers! 🙂

    1. Hi Allyson,
      Yess, what should i say for that holiday? either i was lucky or was blessed because randomly dropped at such place.

      LOL. that’s really funny, following a complete stranger. if i were you (getting caught by the one whom i was following), i would whistle *dududududududu* and hurriedly turn back, as if there were nothing wrong happened. hehehehehehe
      thanks anyway for sharing funny story. i got another funny story of getting lost by this post and I’m happy because of that.

Feel free to drop your thought...Thank you \^o^/

