Suddenly Bali (I); Ubud – Tegallalang

Suddenly Bali. After spending one night at Surabaya, I went to Bali, it was a sudden decision. I planned it H-2 before I got my field break. I usually plan a travel or holiday at least 2 months before my schedule. Since it was my first time, I was really enthusiast. With limited time, I prepared anything that I could prepare. I planed where to go, what to eat, where to eat, what to do, where to eat, what to eat, and eat again. Like usual, I didn’t want to miss a thing (*suddenly singing Uncles from Aerosmith song; I don’t wanna miss a thing, LOL).

Bali1
When i come to a place, i never forget to take all the free things; maps, brochures, and postcards πŸ™‚

After so much self-thought-war, finally, at late night I booked a rent car for one day. Maybe it was cheaper to book a motorcycle than a car, but I thought it was rainy season and I don’t have driving license for a motorcycle. So, I went for car. (We can get IDR 50,000 for a motorcycle and IDR 180,000 for a car per day). So, after fully prepared I went to sleep beautifully.

First Day

Ubud – Tegallalang – Kintamani. (oh yeah, finally I hired a driver too, due to energy saving).

I had prepared at 10.00 am, now I think it was too late, I slept too beautifully. I guess. Hehehehhe. We drove to Ubud, kyak, I was really excited, imagined about the place that’s getting more infamous after Julia Robert spent times there for casting. I supposed to make a stop at Batubulan on my way to Ubud, to watch Barong and Keris Dance. But I was too late; the show already commenced about an hour. So I just skipped it (>_<”!).

I think Ubud would be very interesting place for someone who loves art and loves calmness because that was what I felt while there. Just being there, the tranquility feeling hit me and my no-sense-of-art was attacked by so many (I thought) wonderful detailed sculptures and paintings. We can easily find museums, art galleries, and artist workshops, also some fancy restaurants. I supposedly didn’t make a stop at the gallery along the road because plainly didn’t have that-kind-sense of art. So I simply passed it, and then went to Sacred Monkey Forest (I think it describes me so well, LOL). Please Feel the Forest!!

This is the entrance of Sacred Monkey Forest, they prepare banana which monkey loves so much. (I love banana, I love to collect monkey accessories; so ???)

EntranceMonkeyForest2

I like monkeys, cute monkeys, I love to collect monkey doll, so I was really cheerful here, even though at first I was afraid to make enclosure with those monkeys. But I overcame it.

These are some of monkey emoticons, so varied and funny. It was hard for me to make enclosure at first because they live freely there. It is said that more than 600 monkeys live there…mm, I should greet them one by one :D.

Monkey Emoticon

We can call Bali as Island with thousands β€˜pure’ since we could find it everywhere, in every corner, in almost each house. Even in this forest.

PuraDalemAgung

Finished with those monkeys, I did something that I’d been longing for so long time. Babi Guling, literally Roasted-rolling-pork (sorry, to say it vulgarly, it is processed that way) at warung Bu Oka, this place is always full with customer,,,I was pulled to Bali by that too. It was so delicious. The portion was more than enough, the taste; it rich of spices, hot, and crispy, it was completed by delicious pork soup. I’ll for sure back to Bali again someday for this gluttony pleasure. Kekekekeke.

BuOka

In front of Warung Bu Oka, there are Historical Palace of Ubud. These are a glanced view of it.

Ubud PalaceBefore completely left Ubud, i stopped at Ubud Market, unfortunately it was under construction, so there were only few shops opened that day.

Ubud Market and streets
Ubud Market and streets

Racing with my limited time, hurriedly I was heading to Tegallalang, to higher area at northern part of Ubud, I couldn’t remember how long was our trip or how far it was (bad, bad, bad, geos).Β 

Tegallalang welcome board
Tegallalang welcome board

I enjoyed the trip in between. I could feel how strong Balinese with their costume. What I clearly remember is the air more refreshing, the weather getting colder, and the road getting narrower… If by any chance you want to go there, don’t close your window. Let it open, breath the fresh air, and smell the unique and typical favor of Bali, feel its hospitality, and absorb its creativity. So, here I came to the Tegallalang, famous for its Ceking Rice Terrace.

This is one of restaurant at Tegallalang with Rice field as view (please forget a little bit intrude by children who sell vary stuff here).TegallalangThis is how Ceking Rice Terrace looks like, splendid, isn’t it?Β  This picture just shows little view of it. I could do more, but I think I picked the wrong time. It was too hot.

Tegallalang2

I think it would be much better to visit this site at morning when the sun not zest gives its shine (LOL) or at evening when the sun almost gets tired and ready to head for the west.

Those were how my half first day run…what do you think about it? Do you find my simple and plain trip a little bit interesting? I do hope so :). I found it interesting and refreshing πŸ™‚

Then, I continued half day for first day to Kintamani highland until legian, Lowland.

A wise traveler never despises his own country. – William Hazlitt-

24 thoughts on “Suddenly Bali (I); Ubud – Tegallalang

    1. Awwww, thank you. yess, i traveled alone to Bali. there will be 2 more post about Bali since i spent 3 nights there i have much materials. wait patiently dear friend. I’ll show some of interesting point about Bali, of course from my point of view.

    1. I do hope you con come someday, and I’m happy to spare my time for you both :).
      yes, maybe that’s one reason why Bali become famous, it even more famous abroad than Indonesia, the motherland. πŸ™‚
      i think it has a complete packet. Amazing mountain, beautiful beaches, and strong and unique custom and culture.
      Nice support. i’ll make it fast. πŸ™‚
      Thank you πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    2. Hehehe – I would love to come to Bali. A LOT of Australians go there, it is a favourite place. I will make it there one day, I hope.

      Cheers! πŸ™‚

    3. I look forward to Bali being Bali and not like Australia. LOL

      I look forward to your description when you write more about your trip. I would like to hear about the markets, I hope you plan to write about that, too. Yes, and the customs and the culture. It will all be interesting. I know nothing about Bali except that it is friendly and very beautiful.

      Cheers! πŸ™‚

    4. i see, of course, me too, i want to see Bali as Bali, but what i meant was there were to much tourist esp from Australia there. hehehehehe.

      Ah, so sorry, i didn’t have that much materials for market since the only market i visited was under construction. Maybe someday if i back to Bali. πŸ˜€

      Same here, i wish i knew more about Bali to share. πŸ™‚
      i often share just a snapshot of my trip. that a nice suggestion. i’ll make detail next time. πŸ™‚

      Cheers!! πŸ™‚

    5. Hi Yuna!

      Anything you tell about Bali or any of the places you visit is interesting. I like the snapshot idea, and that’s a great way to do it because it keeps it all light and easy. When you go to a place, you go to have fun, not to write a report on it. LOL. So don’t work hard to write lots – do as you usually do, that’s the best way.

      I like what you wrote about the monkeys. They would have made me very nervous. I know monkeys can be very aggressive.

      Cheers!

    6. i love it when someone found it interesting, yes, snapshots make it easier than words. but adding words make it more detail and people will see what we thought about it. πŸ™‚
      No, i didn’t work that hard and i think I’m not that type that would work that hard. kekekekekekke. i enjoy it and maybe the idea will give something new. i’m working on it, though :).

      yesss, they can, even though the guard say the already been tamed, it still made me afraid at first. what i didn’t tell is i was forth and back at the main gate for so many times before exactly entering the whole area. LOL.

      πŸ˜€

  1. yeee..keBali kok ndak bilang2 mbak.. itu lokasi sekitar 5 km dari rumahku, pasti ngelewatin deh mbaknya..heehee.. πŸ™‚ Have fun di Bali yaahh..

Feel free to drop your thought...Thank you \^o^/

