My Childhood bookshelves

Searching any idea for my blog, I google-ed October, and then I found that England celebrate first week of October as Children’s Book Week. Finally I came up with idea of writing about my favourite literature when I was child. I, myself love the idea since I pity my younger generation (especially my niece, nephew, and my younger cousins). They don’t enjoy reading any kinds of book (even comic) as I enjoyed them back then. They were really into gadgets. Once I gave books as my niece birthday’s gift, but the seal has not been disclosed since then. How sad I was, furthermore, as long as I remembere, my younger self treasured any kind of children books. That’s the only one entertainment I had without limitation and I would not been scolded if I over-did it.

So here some book from my childhood shelve (honestly, I still have some of them right now 😀 )

Cerita Rakyat Nusantara ( Indonesian’s Legend)

Jaka TarubWhen I was learning how to read a little faster (around my second grade), I loved reading any of Indonesia’s legend because that was the only kind of book that my school provided besides literature. When I was child, Indonesia had 27 provinces (now 33 provinces) and each province has its own legend, fables, or myth. At first, it was told from generation to generation, but thank to them who collected the whole story in a book.

What’s so nice about the legend is each of it brings moral message, so sometimes our teacher re-told the stories in front of the class. Most notable stories such as; Malin Kundang (West Sumatera), Sangkuriang (West Java), Lutung Kasarung (West Java), Timun Emas (Central Java), Jaka Tarub (Central Java), Dewi Sri (Central Java), Bawang Merah dan Bawang Putih (Yogyakarta), the Origin of Surabaya’s Name (East Java), Keong Emas (Java),

I like the entire stories that have been written into a book. I read them all (almost all of elementary school library has these books), but “Jaka Tarub” took so much space in my memory.

Mariko Takeda

Crispy HairMariko Takeda is a Japanese manga (comic) artist. Maybe Mariko Takeda not as famous as the other classic comic writers from Japan, even for me, most of her works in a fair level, but, I have to include her work here because “Crispy Hair” by Mariko Takeda was my first comic. I was lured by its unique cover and synopsis; about a brave boyish style girl with curly hair. She wasn’t classified as a beautiful girl and had no friends. She struggled to get her happiness, to be received by her environment. To get it all, instead of changing the way she looked, she managed herself to stay being a nice, whole-hearted girl. In that way she proved that everyone, whoever he/she was deserve happiness and had he/she own crown.

After reading this comic, I started to love comic more, then I explored more. Oh yea, I was in 4th grade, it when our family moved from isolated mining area to a more civilized little town.

Yōko Shōji

Yoko Shoji (born in June 04, 1950) is a Japanese manga artist. She is best known for writing Seito Shokun! (atention Students!), for which she won the Kondansha Manga Award for Shoojo in 1978. Her other notable comic is Popcorn (26 series). Yoko Shoji loves to write about daily life, especially school, friendship and teen romance.

I read all her works and most of it still in my bookshelf (hard to let the childhood memories passes by *grin). I enjoyed reading Yoko Shoji because of her artwork was beautiful. Most of boy character in her work had pretty face with varied outstanding skill, and cool. On the contrary, the girl character tended to be clumsy. From all of her works, I love “Pretty Boy” the most.

Kyoko Mizuki and Yumiko Igarashi

Besides Candy Candy, I don’t know the other works of Kyoko Mizuki (story) and Yumiko Igarashi (illustrator), both are Japanese manga artists. Candy was a blond curly hair girl which was hard not to be loved when all she showed was her cheerful side although she was living a troubled and hard life. She was showing to me that kind of character could alleviate the burden.

Candy Candy

Hans Christian Andersen

H.C. AndersenHans Christian Anderson (April 2, 1805 – August 4, 1875) was a Danish author and poet, most famous for his fairy tales. Among his best-known stories The Snow Queen, The Little Mermaid, The Emperor’s New Clothes, Thumbelina, and The Ugly Duckling (www.goodreads.com).

I was so grateful that my dad got a new job because the new town had many beneficial for me, mainly the new school that I entered had a library with plenty of books and since then, I’d became an library active member. I didn’t skip a day without entering a library and reading, and H.C. Andersen was the first author that I chose from my new school library’s shelves and I had no regret because his fairy tales made me falling in love deeper with children book. Among his lovable tales, I fell for The Emperor’s New Clothes, Thumbelina, and The Ugly Duckling. Those books filled my childhood imagination.

Enid Blyton

As the time passed, my interest on book was getting wider, not only book which was dominated by picture (comic) but also in reverse, book itself. My first book was Lima Sekawan di Pulau Harta (The Famous Five on Treasure Island) by Enid Blyton.

Enid Blyton (11 August 1897 – 28 November 1968) was an English children’s writer also known as Mary Pallock with over 600 million copies of book selling all over the world. Her notable works from over 600 books (active published 1922 – 1942) are The Famous Five, Secret Seven, and Noddy. Blyton books are generally split into three types. One involves ordinary children in extraordinary situations, having adventure, solving crimes, or otherwise finding themselves in unusual circumstances, the examples are Famous Five, Secret Seven, and Adventure series. The second and more conventional type is the boarding school story. The third type is fantastical (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enid_Blyton).

Enid BlytonFrom so many books of Blyton, I like the adventures in The Famous Five series. I enjoy reading boarding school life in Malory Towers stories, and following Naughtiest Girl books.

p.s. I like the name of girl main character’s in The Famous Five; Georgina.

Astrid Lindgren

Pippi Longstocking series, Madicken, Emil, and Karlsson on the roof are standing still on my book shelf. Mischievous, carefree, curiosity, adventurous, strong and kind-hearted characters of Pippi was what made so many children including me, love Astrid Lindgren’s works, a Swedish writer of fiction and screenplays (November 14, 1907 – January 28, 2002).

Pippi

M. Masters

M. MastersI don’t get any information which is related to this author. I just remember about a pair of fictional detective characters that appeared in the series of “Can You Solve The Mystery?”; Christopher “Hawkeye” Collins and Amy (Amanda) Adams. I was enjoying these series back then, I liked how Masters made “Hawkeye” Collins couldn’t be separated with his sketch’s book for drawing the scene of the crime which provide the necessary hint to solve the problem. Since then, I thought it was brilliant. It seemed more amazing because I don’t have any sense of art. “The Secret of the Loon Lake Monster” is my favourite story.

Stefan Wolf

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAStefan Wolf (April 17, 1938 – March 10, 2007) was a Germany children writer. He wrote young adult, mystery, and thrillers stories. But from all of his work, the adventure of STOP is the only one that I read. STOP stands for Sporty, Thomas, Oskar, and Petra as four main characters in the series. In its original language (German), these junior detectives are called TKKG.

From all of TKKG’s books which were translated to Indonesian, I love STOP: Harta Karun di Gua Naga (The Treasure in the Dragon’s Lair) the most.

Hergé

Georges Prosper Remi (22 May 1907 – 3 March 1983), better known by the pen name Hergé, was a Belgian comics writer and artist. His best known and most substantial work is The Adventures of Tintin comic book series, which he wrote and illustrated from 1929 until his death in 1983, leaving the twenty-fourth Tintin adventure Tintin and Alph-Art unfinished. His work remains a strong influence on comics, particularly in Europe. He was inducted into the Comic Book Hall of Fame in 2003 (wikipedia).

Tintin - Herge

I have 24 series of Tintin’s Adventures and finished read it all. Since the first time I met Tintin, he owns the first rank on my most favourite comic. I Love Tintin Adventures all around the world so much, even until now, I re-read it as much as I want. The most remarkable of Tintin’s Adventures for me are Blue Lotus, Red Rackham’s Treasure, The Secret of the Unicorn, and Flight 714 to Sydney. The last tittle (Flight 714 to Sydney) was remarkable because on that story, Tintin and friends made a stop in Jakarta, Indonesia’s capital city (too subjective :D).

I don’t know whether it’s because of Tintin or just me, I really want to travel around the world.

Hilman

My childhood book shelves were full with translated to Indonesian book like what I mentioned above, and then when I was in 7th grade, my sister introduced me to one of Indonesian infamous writers, Hilman (Born in Jakarta, August 25, 1964, active until present). He is famous for his comedy series; Lupus, Olga, Lulu, Keluarga Hantu, Vanya, Vlad series and much more stories. His books were characterized by daily life stories with its general problems and he’s great in reversing the problem into humorous solving type, so it’s easy to chew. He loves to inserted funny traditional poetry in each of story.

Hilman

Agatha Christie

2172799When I was an 8th grader, I accidentally found the books of Agatha Christie lied among the detective stories on my school’s library, then I picked “Sepuluh Anak Negro” (And Then There Were None) out of shelf because that was the thinnest among Christie’s books that time. Since this accidental occurred to me, I found myself fond of her books even more. What not to love from “The Queen of Crimes” anyway.

Born with true name Dame Agatha Christie Mary Clarissa Christie (September 15, 1890 – January 12, 1976), this amazing English crime novel writer has sold about 4 billion copies. Hercule Poirot, Miss Jane Marple, Tommy and Tuppence are four of her fictional detective characters who bring her to fame and according to Guinness Book of World Records; she is the best-selling novelist of all time (wikipedia).

Actually i have so many children books on my shelves until now, but those are what most remarkable for me. How about your children books shelves?

No entertainment is so cheap as reading, nor any pleasure so lasting. She will not want new fashions nor regret the loss of expensive diversions of variety of company if she can be amused with an author in her closet.

–Lady Montagu-

Source: wikipedia and http://www.goodreads.com

Wear the old coat and buy a new book. -Austin Phelps-

25 thoughts on “My Childhood bookshelves

    1. Yess, yess, toss!!

      Ehm, even back then, Candy quite hard to find in my little town, i got it from my friend’s older sister, as gift 😀 😀

      How’s London (*langsung angan2 ngumpulin duit tinggi, kalo inget London 😀 )

    1. Hi Mba,

      uaaaa, senengnya di-recognize bukunya. kekekke *high five*

      wua, ada banget, kemren pas nyari gambar ada nemu ini, ada versi bahasa inggrisnya juga, walau belom semua cerita di translate ke Inggris.

      http://ceritarakyatnusantara.com/

      Senangnya bisa bebagi (ayo kita memunculkan kembali legenda Indonesia yg keren, apaseeh)

      oh yah mba, boleh gak kapan2 posting cara buat nasi curry Jepang? heheheheh, aku suka 😀

      Selamat Pagi

    1. Sama sama mba,senengnya berbagi info baik. Senengnya ada yg bacain cerita begitu, kayanya ntar bisa diikutin nie kalo udah bekeluarga. kekekekek.
      Sip2, aku tunggu mba 😀

  1. This brought a big smile to my face – I was a big fan of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five series (never worried about the rest of hers, such as The Secret Seven, JUST The Famous Five). 🙂 🙂 🙂

    1. Ah, thank you! I was trying to remember the dog’s name. I was thinking Timmy or something like that – you just confirmed it! Yah!

      Have a great day, Yuna. 😀

  2. Yes indeed…after reading this post and I realized that I’ve read more books when I was a little girl when compared to my teenage years…in which I just kept to reading only one or two author’s books (and they no longer write anymore)….

    I started reading manga only about 10 years ago and my first manga was Hana Yori Dango…lol…and thus begin experiencing fan fictions writing…awww…those were the days…

    Thank you so much for sharing with us this beautiful memory for it really took me back to the memory lane…hehe…

    Have a great day ahead, always, my friend! Cheers! 😀

    1. Ow, nice to hear that it could bring back a beautiful memory Wendy.

      Hana Yori Dango? i still have “almost” complete series in my book shelf. ah, i remember it hits Asia because F4. kekekekeke, we grown up at that time 😀

      me too, we read varies author and books when we were younger.

      Nice to share this sweet things then 😀

      Have a wonderful day Wendy

  3. Hey friend!
    You know I love, love, love this post! I have much to say to bear with me…
    How fantastic that the love of reading was part of your childhood. Nice to hear about your life in different towns and schools and how that effected your reading. Wonderful job summarizing some of your “old” books, some of them “vintage” stories/authors (you KNOW how I feel about that!).
    As for Agatha Christi, she was one of my grandmother’s favorite authors. I remember seeing her bookshelves lined up with Christi paperbacks.
    Have you heard of this — I’ve just found out about the the “Book Girl” series by Mizuki Nomura, a Japanese author. They are classified as Young Adult (main character is in highschool), but I want to read them because she EATS books!!! Here’s the Amazon link http://www.amazon.com/Mizuki-Nomura/e/B0039TN7YU/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0
    I’ve ordered the first two. I have to find out what’s up with this chick!
    Lastly, with your permission I would like to link this post to my page. I think others would enjoy. Please let me know!

    1. Hi Moore,
      wow, your words really bright my day 😀
      i never thought this random post would be loved by someone. really nice to hear \^0^/.

      i don’t know if that was the only entertainment i had when i was child or i just simply liked it since back then. LOL.

      The truth is, i still have some of them on my book shelf and know I’m re-collecting it again from second hand book shop.

      Of course, i know what you feel :D, when i collected the facts about the authors, i just realized, most of its are so “vintage” stories. i even had not been born when they already passed away. They were great authors.

      i envy your grandmother’s bookshelves. i re-collecting her book too and when i went to the second book shops, i always hoped the that the sellers had a “new” Christie’s old book. i love the old printed book than the new cover.

      “Book Girl”, ow, so sorry never heard about it and i just saw it, i really have no idea about that comic.

      i hope you enjoy the books 🙂

      What an honor, Moore. Please feel free to link it anytime, to anywhere you like 😀 :D.

      *i’m really happy with this “talk”.

      Cheers and have a wonderful day \^0^/ 🙂

  4. not that I don’t like Indonesia’s legends, but in my age, it was re-told in schools many times I was bored to hear them again and again. ha-ha … and lucky you to have that japanese comics. I read candy-candy when I was in COLLEGE !! wkwkwkwk … and it was leased. I stop reading it when I had to wait the next books borrowed by the other students for months.

    1. Ehm, I don’t remember the legends were re-told during my elemantary school, my teachers usually gave us book for self-reading. Ehm…different teaching method.
      I re-read Candy-candy in collage mba. 😀
      Owch. I lose all of my Candy-candy comics, only one number left. 😥

Feel free to drop your thought...Thank you \^o^/

