A Slice of Cheesecake’s Story in Seoul

On my previous post, I said that I did a lot of new things on my first visit to South Korea (I think I’ll do more), one of which was couchsurfing. After giving much thought whether I should do it or not, I finally did it. I’d never had the confidence before, to stay and share anything with someone that I’d never known. However, I gave it a try in South Korea and I enjoyed it; everything that had happened during my staying with three different hosts.

My first host was a university student in Seoul. At first I worried about our wide age’s gap, especially about picking a topic for conversation, I‘m much older, kekekekeke, but until the end of my staying, it didn’t give me any hardship. In other words, I had a great first couchsurfing’s experience because of her, whom now I call friend. 😀

We shared so many things, we hung out frequently, we conversed mostly about travel and our own culture, and etc. It was pleasing and meaningful stay for me, which would be much different if I’d stayed at cheap guesthouse just like I usually did. 😀 Thank you, friend. From all of those things we had done together, there were so many stories to share, at least from my point of view, some stories were amusing, and the other few were making me or the outsiders frowning. However, it all was unforgettable, one of which was when we wanted to have more meal after having mouthful Japanese cuisine dinner.

The rain was pouring down at the night when we had our last dinner together. It caused the weather got a bit colder than usual, which made me think having a cup of hot drink would be so great, but I couldn’t say it at first since I knew that she had so many homework to be done. However, the temptation of having it was getting stronger since there were plenty of restaurants and cafes on our way back home. I still kept on silence and admiring the various design and shape of cafés and restaurants while walking. Few minutes later, Irina suddenly talked about how nice the design of a café that we just passed and it really looked cozy. I agreed. And thanked God, we suddenly brought up the issue of entering it (with a little bit flurry talk from both sides at first, needs no explanation here), and then we decided to enter and have hot drinks and a slice of cheesecake. Great.

Here comes my highlight issue, while Irina was ordering our drinks. She started ordering by reading the menu which was hanging on the wall. I let Irina handled it since it all were written in Hangul (Korean characters), I gave up. I thought everything was going smoothly at first because she was ordered it confidently, but somehow I felt something strange by looking the other customers were holding their laugh while looking at Irina. I smelled something went wrong; however I ignored it because I didn’t have any idea though. Everything had been ordered anyway, we then walked upstairs, and she told me later that she just misspelled the Hangul words. I thought it was alright, it could be happened, but somehow sometimes it was embarrassing or funny for the other people to watch. She said it all was English menu with Hangul, like something coffee or what green tea like we ordered. Ah, then I understood the situation and I found it was funny (no embarrassment intended) and I did hope people who were holding their laugh did think the same as me, no other thoughts.

Why I said no other thoughts? It because that kind of moment was not my first experience while hanging out with Irina. It had happened few times (and it might be more often for her). It often happened when we ordered dinner or when we once went to traditional market; I could feel her slightly broken Korean (from the stares). Tell me too sensitive, I just felt it. For whatever the reason for the stares or “the unbelievable face expression” was, I thought it funny (please read funny as pleasing or amusing moment) 😀 and I did hope those stares had the same meaning.

Those moments reminded me when my sisters, dad, and cousins laughed over my failed attempt of speaking Torajan (even though my Torajan is completely nothing compares to her high level of Korean language), which was OK for me, at the same time the moment I got ‘that kind of annoying’ stare when I couldn’t speak Torajan well during my trip to Toraja, while my appearance told it all. The moment when someone pointing my parent because I was bad for something. I felt slightly annoyed by that, while they might not deserve my bad feeling. It’s just my spontaneous feeling. It didn’t last long because when my coffee was prepared and a slice of cheesecake appeared in front of us, that slightly annoyed feeling suddenly disappeared.

IMG_3987That’s all my story for today, it could be happened anywhere anyway, however, I just want to talk about it. I actually wanted to deliver this story as funny one, but when I re-read it, it didn’t seem funny at all. Arghhhhh… *put emoticon of grinning with a drop of sweat here, please*

P.S. I promise the good stories next. 😀

10 thoughts on “A Slice of Cheesecake’s Story in Seoul

    1. Already tasted it Ti at Myeongdong. Thanks to my friend who broung me there. I had no idea about how delicious it before. ❤

  1. Pingback: Senang Senang Yuks

Feel free to drop your thought...Thank you \^o^/

