Seoul, May 14th, 2016

Do you know that there is celebration on 14th day on each month in South Korea? I caught a glimpse of an article about it right before I flew to South Korea. I read it somewhere, but I didn’t give any attention, until I came to Seoul on a day before, May 13th. Since my first day in Seoul was messed up, I only hung out at night for dinner and brief strolled along the side of Cheonggye Stream (청계천 Cheonggyecheon). On the next day, I spent almost whole day outside, which was on Saturday, May 14th, 2016. When my friend and I left the house and decided to have (our late) lunch out, we’d seen so many couples on the road with their happy faces, while the girls were holding a rose or a bouquet of roses or any other beautiful flowers.

Rose1The sight didn’t take lot of space in my mind at first. However, as we walked further, the sight of people who brought flowers were increasing significantly. I couldn’t ignore it anymore, (I thought) neither did Irina because as we got closer to our dining place, she suddenly shouted that it was Rose’s day, similar to Valentine day. The different of Rose’s day with Valentine day might be laid on how the affection be shown, of course by giving roses to your loved one or two on Rose’s day. That was all.

Yes, that was all because after knowing the special occasion on that day, we were just laughing. I couldn’t figure out what was the reason for her laugh, but I sure laughed over our singledom in the middle of such scene. After laughing I told her the we should have given a rose one to another, so we could feel the euphoria of Rose’s day. And then I did, I sent a rose to Irina; a picture of wild roses that grew on the neighbor’s lawn that I saw on my way back alone. 😀 😀

RoseAh, there was one more on May 14, 2016, a commemoration the birth of Buddha in South Korea. I saw the lampion of Buddha’s journey in South Korea along the Chongye Stream.
Cheonggye

As for today, I just checked, it is Kiss day. Great! 😘

9 thoughts on “Seoul, May 14th, 2016

  1. I like the rose in your second picture yun’ … it’s so sweet … 🙂
    never knew that there’s rose’s day there. I wonder why we don’t have it here. we should have it just to celebrate the beauty of God’s creature. don’t you think ?! flowers are beautiful. not because I’m a woman I said this. but because they’re truly beautiful. wondering what God had in mind when He made it 🙂

Feel free to drop your thought...Thank you \^o^/

